international gender champions
international gender champions

International Gender Champions

Sélectionné au Forum de Paris sur la Paix 2018 pour un an de soutien en 2019

Projet porté par :

International Gender Champions

Zone géographique
International
Thème
Paix et sécurité

Ce projet rassemble un réseau de femmes et d’hommes décisionnaires issus de la société civile, d’organisations internationales ou d’Etats membres engagés dans l’égalité des sexes au sein de leurs activités.

Projet

International Gender Champions (IGC) est un réseau rassemblant des décideurs femmes et hommes déterminés à briser les barrières de genre et à faire de l'égalité de genre une réalité professionnelle. Le réseau a été lancé au Palais des Nations à Genève en juillet 2015. Depuis 2017, les Champions internationaux de l'égalité des sexes ont rencontré une forte croissance, s'étendant de Genève (Suisse) à New York (Etats-Unis) et Vienne (Autriche), bientôt rejoints par de nouveaux Hubs à Nairobi (Kenya) et Bonn (Allemagne).

A ce jour, le réseau compte plus de 300 Champions et Alumni actifs, à la tête d'organisations internationales, de missions permanentes et d'organisations de la société civile. Tous les Champions s’engagent à ne plus siéger dans des comités unisexes en signant la Promesse de Comités Paritaire (Panel Parity Pledge). Les Champions prennent également deux engagements individuels pour atteindre l'égalité des sexes dans leurs organisations et activités respectives. Les Champions sont tenus d'adhérer aux valeurs d’IGC, ainsi que d'agir conformément aux normes éthiques :
- Traitement de chaque personne avec respect et équité.
- Valorisation de la diversité.
- Création et maintien des lieux de travail sûrs.
- Collaboration avec d'autres Champions dans un esprit d'ouverture et de transparence.

Enfin, les Champions prennent part à des groupes de travail ayant vocation à renforcer l’impact d’IGC dans des domaines spécifiques. Le Groupe sur l'impact commercial d’IGC est entré dans l'histoire lors de la onzième Conférence ministérielle de l’Organisation Mondiale du Commerce (OMC), lorsque plus de 120 États membres et observateurs se sont joints à sa Déclaration sur le commerce et l'émancipation économique des femmes. Cette Déclaration de Buenos Aires est essentielle car elle encourage les pays à identifier l'impact du commerce sur les femmes et à en tenir compte dans leurs accords commerciaux ayant un impact sur leur statut économique.

Au cours de l'année à venir, IGC souhaiterait être introduit au plus haut niveau et être davantage impliqué dans les événements internationaux. IGC a également l'ambition d'accroître sa visibilité et de développer la communication de son initiative en Europe. Le Comité de suivi du Forum de Paris sur la Paix fournit des conseils stratégiques dans les domaines de la communication et de lobbying politique.

Organisation

Ce réseau tripartite dirigé par la société civile, des organisations internationales et des États membres réunit des décideurs pour éliminer les obstacles liés au genre.

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter

international gender champions
international gender champions logo

International Gender Champions

Project led by : 

International Gender Champions, Women@thetable

Geographical Area
International
Theme
Peace and Security

The project is a leadership network of female and male decision makers from civil society, international organizations and member states committed to achieve gender equality in their activities.

Project

International Gender Champions (IGC) is a leadership network bringing together female and male decision-makers determined to break down Gender barriers and make Gender equality a working reality in their spheres of influence. The network was launched at the Palais des Nations in Geneva in July 2015. Since 2017, the International Gender Champions has experienced rapid growth, expanding from Geneva to other cities, including New York (United States) and Vienna (Austria), soon to be joined by Hubs in Nairobi (Kenya), Bonn (Germany) and Paris (France).

To date, the network numbers over 300 active Champions and Alumni who are the heads of International Organizations, permanent missions, and organizations from the civil society. All Champions sign the Panel Parity Pledge to no longer sit on single-sex panels, the core of their initiative. Champions also make two individualized commitments to achieve Gender equality in their organization and its activities. Additionally, Champions are expected to adhere to the IGC values and to act in accordance with the highest ethical standards, including:
• Treating every person with respect and fairness.
• Valuing diversity.
• Creating and maintaining safe workplaces.
• Working together with other Champions in a spirit of openness, honesty and transparency.

Finally, Champions work in groups on sector specific impacts. IGC’s Trade Impact Group made history at World Trade Organization’s Ministerial Conference, when its Declaration on Trade and Women’s Economic Empowerment was joined by 120+ Member States and Observers. The Buenos Aires Declaration is critical as it institutionally encourages countries to identify impact of trade on women and take this into consideration in their trade agreements with potential global impact on women’s economic status. IGC Impact Groups on Representation, Standards, and Disarmament are working on similar sector impact.

In the coming year, IGC would like to be introduced at the highest level and become more involved in key international events. IGC also wishes to increase its visibility, and to develop the communication around the project in Europe. The Scale-up Committee helps by providing strategic advice in the areas of communication and human resources. Tailored support is also provided regarding advocacy and political lobbying.

Organization

A tri-partite leadership network led by civil society, international organizations and member states, that brings together female & male decision-makers to break down gender barriers.

NEWS

14 May 2019: Some 50 organizations worldwide signed the Declaration for Gender Responsive Standards and Standards Development and pledged to create and implement gender action plans. The Declaration constitutes the result of the Gender Responsive Standards Initiative with which International Gender Champions has been associated.

Subscribe to the newsletter

Day
Hour
Minute
Second
Phasellus ut felis elit. dolor ipsum in elit.
X
X