Submit your solution before 27 May
Search in all the website
Better governing the global commons: climate, biodiversity, oceans, outer space

Net Zero Space

At the occasion of the 4th edition of the Paris Peace Forum, actors from all over the world concerned by the long-term sustainability of outer space have launched the “Net Zero Space” initiative. From satellite operators to launchers, from space agencies to academia and the civil society, all these stakeholders gathered to call to achieving sustainable use of outer space for the benefit of all humankind by 2030 by taking concrete actions so as to tackle the pressing challenge of reducing debris orbiting Earth.

“Net Zero Space” Declaration

Activities in outer space have entered a new era of growth, creating new possibilities for human development and the protection of Earth. However, the amount of orbital debris is increasing dangerously. This trend threatens humanity’s ability to benefit from outer space by increasing the risk of collision for space assets, further affecting the safety and sustainability of space operations, and increasing the cost of access to the most useful orbits.

Article I of the Outer Space Treaty of 1967 provides that the exploration and use of outer space are “the province of all [hu]mankind”. The protection of Earth’s orbital environment should be at the center of all space activities in order to guarantee that current and future actors will continue to have access to and use of this domain. It is therefore critical to ensure the sustainable development of both public and private space activities, to protect the integrity of existing and future objects in orbit, and to maintain equitable access to outer space for all. Our common goal is to ensure safe space operations and the long-term sustainability of outer space activities. To do so, we seek to adopt appropriate mitigation and remediation measures in all space operations from the outset, taking into account the distinctive features of the different orbits used for space operations.

We share the conviction that this goal can only be achieved by international and multi-stakeholder cooperation through gathering forces from the private sector, civil society, and academia, as well as public authorities and regulators. All entities operating in orbit, or contributing on Earth to space operations, have a part to play in this task.

On-going scientific research from national and international bodies indicates that collective, concrete steps must be taken to prevent a rapid degradation of Earth’s orbital environment. By launching the “Net Zero Space” initiative, we are calling for a global commitment to achieving sustainable use of outer space for the benefit of all humankind by 2030.  We recommend urgent action from 2021 onwards to rapidly contain and then reduce the ongoing pollution of Earth’s orbital environment:
  • by avoiding further generation of hazardous space debris, and
  • by remediating existing hazardous space debris.


We are calling on all stakeholders worldwide to join us in supporting the “Net Zero Space” initiative. When announcing their support, all stakeholders will commit to declaring concrete, tangible example(s) of actions they took, or are planning to undertake, in accordance with the scale of their operations and within their means so as to contribute to the “Net Zero Space” goal.

In order to follow up on the progresses made to reach this goal and to keep incentive in this regard, we ask the Paris Peace Forum to host the “Net Zero Space” initiative secretariat, to report annually on the status of the initiative and promote subsequent steps towards the realization of the “Net Zero Space” goal.

List of supporters:

Arianespace
  • Arianespace has pledged to reduce its orbital footprint, with the Vinci restartable engine which will facilitate the deorbitation of Ariane 6 upper stages at the end of the launch sequence. You can read the press release here.


Astrocast
  • Astrocast has pledged to strengthen its ongoing commitment to sustainability by 1/ ensuring all satellites are equipped with an on-board propulsion system to perform vital manoeuvres in order to prevent collisions and therefore avoid contaminating the cosmos and 2/ by further developing re-entry analysis to make sure that satellites can safely de-orbit. Read the press release here.


Astroscale
  • Astroscale has pledged to 1/ develop innovative and scalable solutions across the spectrum of on-orbit servicing, and 2/ build the economics and working with government and commercial stakeholders to develop norms, regulations, and incentives that support the responsible use of space. Read the press release here.


Avanti
  • Avanti has pledged to 1/ to keep safely operating its spacecraft to avoid proliferation of space debris, in particular thanks to its framework to mitigate the risks of satellite relocations and other non-routine operations, 2/ to keep collaborating with trusted partners and fellow operators to enable better coordination and to mitigate the risks of proximity operations and 3/ to continue its ongoing support to the development of new guidelines and best practices. You can read the press release here.


CGSTL/Chang Guang Satellite
  • CGSTL has pledged 1/ to push forward cooperation with relevant organizations and enterprises, strictly comply with and cooperate with relevant space debris requirements, and promote the realization of effective space traffic management and 2/ to develop technologies for monitoring space debris and space rendezvous events using earth observation satellites, continue to promote the development of relevant innovative technologies in the field of space debris monitoring, and ensure the safety and sustainability of space environment. Read the press release here.


ClearSpace
  • ClearSpace has pledged to 1/ design novel in-orbit services to enhance sustainability and move towards a circular space economy, 2/ develop cost-effective debris removal and spacecraft disposal solutions and work with all stakeholders to deploy them, 3/ conduct our in-orbit services missions on a net zero basis, and our removal and disposal missions on a net negative basis, and 4/ raise awareness around collision risk to help shape future policies towards a net zero space ecosystem. Read the press release here.


Clutch Space Systems
  • Clutch Space Systems has pledged to 1/ provide persistent connectivity and location awareness to satellites in low earth orbit for total immediate command and control for supervised autonomy to enable safe and sustainability focused satellite operators and to 2/ provide satellite ground stations with 1% of the carbon footprint of the equivalent traditional system.


CNES (National Centre for Space Studies)

DarkStar Aerospace
  • DarkStar Aerospace has pledged 1/ to utilise their Ground Stations & multi-spectral Tracking Stations in the MENA region to monitor space debris and assist the global community to minimise space hazards from a region where humanity has little coverage and 2/ to develop new satellite technology for monitoring LEO & GEO space to assist with the removal of space debris and minimize further hazards. And to continue developing hybrid propulsion and reusable rocket systems with our Launch Service Providers to minimise our impact upon our environment and space. You can read the press release here.


EgSA (Egyptian Space Agency)

E-Space
  • E-Space has pledged to design satellite systems with sustainability at the heart of its architecture by maintaining small cross-sections to make them far less vulnerable to collision, preventing the creation of new debris in the event of a collision, and actively cleaning space by entraining and de-orbiting small debris when possible. You can read the press release here.


Exotrail
  • Exotrail has pledged 1/ to keep on enhancing in-space mobility with long term solutions, notably with a reusable SpaceVan™ that will enable the company not to create anymore satellite debris by 2030 and 2/ by the end of the decade, to lean towards new services that will enable a safer use of space, such as debris removal.


EUSST
  • EU SST provides operational space safety services that safeguard space infrastructure, including the European Union flagships Galileo and Copernicus, from the risk of collision and prevent the proliferation of space debris. These services will become available to users beyond Europe in the near future. EU SST has also pledged to work on the development of additional public services to improve space traffic coordination and ensure safe space operations, for instance, supporting space debris mitigation and remediation activities. Read the press release here.


Eutelsat
  • Eutelsat has pledged to implementing a company-specific “Space Debris Mitigation Plan”, an in-house initiative constantly updated since its launch in 2005, ensuring compliance with the strictest standard related to sustainable space operations. With this plan, Eutelsat has achieved a success rate in excess of 95% for deorbiting its spacecraft. The Group has also committed to work closely with the French authorities on updating France’s national space law to take account of the new challenges in space, including debris. Read the press release here.


GISTDA

GMV
  • GMV has pledged to 1/ further enhance and promote the use of its commercial collision avoidance services provided through the focusoc Ops Centre and 2/ continue its work on the development of new solutions to ensure the safety and sustainability of space operations towards future effective space traffic management. Read the press release here.


Hispasat
  • Hispasat has pledged to 1/ implementing a sustainability plan with specific recommendations for a more sustainable operation of its fleet of satellites and 2/ strictly complying with existing space debris guidelines and recommendations, as well as contributing to the development of STM and future regulations on space debris and space sustainability in Europe, in close cooperation with the relevant stakeholders and public authorities.”


IAASS
  • The International Association for the Advancement of Space Safety has pledged to promote and further develop the IAASS/IASL "Proposal for an Operational and Regulatory Framework to Ensure Space Debris Removal". Don Kessler, retired NASA leading space debris scientist said about the proposal: "I believe it is an interesting framework that may go around many of the policy and legal issues that any single government agency or private company would encounter". You can read the full proposal here.


Inmarsat

International institute of air and space law
  • The International Institute of Air and Space Law has pledged to educating students and young professionals from around the world about the space law and policy aspects of debris mitigation and remediation, and encouraging and supporting them in their research on these topics. Read the press release here.


ISISPACE
  • ISISPACE has pledged to 1/ develop and using disruptive space technologies for debris mitigation and removal, and 2/ comply with the strictest norms regarding sustainable space operations, including Dutch standard of deorbiting objects sent in outer space 25 years after their launch rather than 25 years after their end of life. Read the press release here.


Kall Morris Incorporated
  • KMI has pledged to 1/ develop innovative and scalable software and hardware solutions to capture uncontrolled, unrecognized, and unprepared orbital debris, and to 2/ assist the development of in-space servicing, assembly, and manufacturing with government, commercial, and civilian stakeholders for the responsible use of space.


NorthStar
  • NorthStar has pledged to help facilitate safe and sustainable operations through the delivery of high-fidelity commercial space services for satellite operators. NorthStar’s Space Information & Intelligence services will be launched in 2023 bringing the first space-based commercial information service to cover all near-Earth orbits.


OrbitX
  • OrbitX has pledged to advance sustainable Filipino space access by providing the Philippines and the Filipino market with new sustainable technologies such as the Haribon SLS-1 renewable rocket all our auxiliary projects. You can read the press release here.


Planet
  • Planet has pledged to 1/ always sharing the highest accuracy satellite ephemeris data available to us with the broader operator community and to 2/ publishing results of analyses on using differentiate drag as a COLA technique (and continuing to improve upon its utilization).


SCOUT
  • SCOUT has pledged to 1/ support sustainable outer space through development and provision of services that increase space situational awareness for more precise and de-risked operations, and to 2/ collaborate with all stakeholders to ensure development of norms and policies that create responsible use of space.


Share my Space
  • Share my Space has pledged to 1/ foster independent capacities regarding space debris detection, automated maneuvers technologies and autonomous satellite navigation, and 2/ develop an independent database of more than 150,000 objects to increase our common knowledge on the state of Earth’s orbital environment.  Read the press release here.


Skyroot Aerospace

SpaceAble
  • SpaceAble has pledged to provide the space community with two breakthrough services, backed on a full-fledged SSA solution, to enhance sustainability of Low Earth Orbit operations by an order of magnitude. In terms of preventions, SpaceAble provides the space community with 1/ the commercialization in 2022 of ISSAN, a SSA software solution dedicated to aggregate and process space data including space weather to limit the risk of failures in LEO, and 2/ with the test in 2023 of the Orbiter, a low Earth orbit inspector satellite dedicated to complement telemetry and assess in near real time the status of satellites in low Earth Orbit. In terms of remediation, SpaceAble will provide the space community with a subscription solution to insurance contracts that would cover space debris collection missions for deorbiting debris, faulty satellites or launcher part.


Viasat
  • Viasat has pledged to develop comprehensive models that 1/ employ quantitative metrics and measurement tools that enable a full evaluation of the current environment in LEO, the expected evolution of that environment, and the expected consequences of more intensive uses planned for those orbits, and 2/ assist in the design and operation of sustainable spacecraft and constellations, as exposed in Viasat’s recent White Paper. You can read the press release here.


For more information or to support the initiative: netzerospace@parispeaceforum.org

Projects related to this theme

Scale-up project
Better governing the global commons: climate, biodiversity, oceans, outer space
Coral Reefs of the High Seas Coalition
Conservation International
Amérique du Sud
Chile, Peru, United States
More about the project
Scale-up project
Better governing the global commons: climate, biodiversity, oceans, outer space
Environmental Impunity Index Latin America
Center For the study of Security, Impunity and Justice, Universidad de las americas Puebla
Amérique du Sud
Brazil, Colombia, Mexico
More about the project
Better governing the global commons: climate, biodiversity, oceans, outer space
Pacte mondial pour l'environnement
The Global Pact for the Environment project aims to recognize the fundamental rights and duties that…
Global Pact Coalition
International
France, Kenya, Sweden
More about the project

Présentez votre solution avant le 27 mai !
Rechercher dans tout le site
Les espaces communs : océans, climat, espace, biodiversité

Net Zero Space

Lors de la 4e édition du Forum de Paris sur la Paix, des acteurs du monde entier préoccupés par la durabilité à long terme de l’espace extra-atmosphérique ont lancé l’initiative « Net Zero Space ». Opérateurs de satellites, lanceurs, agences spatiales, universités et société civile se sont réunis pour appeler à atteindre une utilisation durable de l'espace extra-atmosphérique au profit de l'ensemble de l'humanité d'ici 2030 en prenant des engagements concrets pour réduire d’urgence le nombre de débris en orbite terrestre.

Déclaration « Net Zero Space »

Les activités dans l'espace extra-atmosphérique sont entrées dans une nouvelle ère de croissance, créant de nouvelles possibilités pour le développement humain et la protection de la Terre. Toutefois, la quantité de débris orbitaux augmente dangereusement. En augmentant le risque de collision des biens spatiaux, en menaçant davantage la sécurité et la soutenabilité des opérations spatiales et en augmentant le coût d'accès aux orbites les plus utiles, cette tendance met en péril la capacité de l'humanité à tirer profit de l'espace extra-atmosphérique.

L'Article I du traité de l'espace de 1967 stipule que l'exploration et l'utilisation de l'espace extra-atmosphérique sont « l’apanage de l’humanité tout entière ». La protection de l'environnement orbital terrestre devrait être au cœur de toutes les activités spatiales afin de garantir que les acteurs actuels et futurs continuent à y avoir accès et à l'utiliser. Il est donc essentiel d'assurer le développement durable des activités spatiales publiques et privées, de protéger l'intégrité des objets en orbite existants et à venir, et de préserver un accès équitable à l'espace pour tous. Notre objectif commun est de garantir la sécurité des opérations spatiales et la soutenabilité à long terme des activités spatiales. Pour ce faire, nous cherchons à adopter des mesures d'atténuation et de correction appropriées pour toutes les opérations spatiales dès leur lancement, en tenant compte des caractéristiques distinctives des différentes orbites utilisées pour celles-ci.

Nous partageons la conviction que cet objectif requiert une coopération internationale et multipartite, rassemblant les forces du secteur privé, de la société civile et du monde universitaire, ainsi que les autorités publiques et les régulateurs. Toutes les entités opérant en orbite ou contribuant aux opérations spatiales depuis la Terre ont un rôle à jouer.

Les recherches scientifiques en cours menées par des organismes nationaux et internationaux indiquent que des mesures collectives et concrètes doivent être prises pour empêcher une dégradation rapide de l'environnement orbital de la Terre. En lançant l'initiative « Net Zero Space », nous appelons à un engagement mondial pour atteindre une utilisation durable de l'espace extra-atmosphérique au profit de l'ensemble de l'humanité d'ici 2030. Nous recommandons une action urgente dès 2021 pour rapidement maîtriser puis réduire la pollution croissante de l'environnement orbital de la Terre :
  • en évitant la production de nouveaux débris spatiaux dangereux,
  • en nettoyant les débris spatiaux dangereux existants.


Nous appelons les parties prenantes du monde entier à nous rejoindre pour soutenir l'initiative « Net Zero Space ». En annonçant leur soutien, celles-ci s'engagent à fournir un ou plusieurs exemples concrets et tangibles d'actions qu'elles ont entreprises ou qu'elles prévoient d'entreprendre, à l'échelle de leurs opérations et dans la limite de leurs moyens, afin de contribuer à l'objectif « Net Zero Space ».

Afin de suivre les progrès réalisés pour atteindre cet objectif et d’appuyer la dynamique à cet égard, nous demandons au Forum de Paris sur la Paix d'accueillir le secrétariat de l'initiative « Net Zero Space », de faire un rapport annuel sur l'avancement de l'initiative, et de promouvoir les étapes suivantes permettant la réalisation de l'objectif « Net Zero Space ».

La version originale de la déclaration « Net Zero Space » est en langue anglaise. Elle seule fait foi.

Liste des soutiens :

Arianespace
  • Arianespace s'est engagé à réduire son empreinte orbitale, avec le moteur à propulsion liquide rallumable Vinci qui facilitera la désorbitation des étages supérieurs d'Ariane 6 en fin de séquence de lancement. Communiqué de presse disponible ici.


Astrocast
  • Astrocast s’est engagé à renforcer son engagement en faveur d’un espace durable 1/ en veillant à ce que tous les satellites soient équipés d'un système de propulsion embarqué afin d’effectuer les manœuvres nécessaires à l'évitement de collisions et donc éviter de contaminer le cosmos et 2/ en développant davantage les analyses de ré-entrée dans l'atmosphère pour permettre aux satellites d'être désorbités en toute sécurité. Communiqué de presse disponible ici.


Astroscale
  • Astroscale s'est engagé à 1) élaborer des solutions innovantes et évolutives dans le domaine de l'entretien en orbite et 2) développer l'économie et travailler avec les acteurs gouvernementaux et commerciaux pour concevoir des normes, des réglementations et des mesures incitatives qui soutiennent l'utilisation responsable de l'espace. Communiqué de presse disponible ici.


Avanti
  • Avanti s'est engagé à 1/ continuer d'exploiter ses engins spatiaux en toute sécurité afin d'éviter la prolifération des débris spatiaux, notamment grâce à son cadre visant à atténuer les risques liés aux relocalisations de satellites et autres opérations non routinières, à 2/ continuer de collaborer avec des partenaires de confiance et d'autres opérateurs afin de permettre une meilleure coordination et d'atténuer les risques liés aux opérations de proximité et à 3/ poursuivre son soutien continu au développement de nouvelles lignes directrices et de meilleures pratiques. Communiqué de presse disponible ici.


CGSTL/Chang Guang Satellite
  • CGSTL s’est engagé à 1/ promouvoir la coopération avec les organisations et les entreprises concernées, respecter strictement et se conformer aux exigences relatives aux débris spatiaux, et promouvoir la réalisation d'une gestion efficace du trafic spatial et 2/ à développer des technologies de surveillance des débris spatiaux et des contacts de proximité à l'aide de satellites d'observation de la Terre, continuer à promouvoir le développement de technologies innovantes dans le domaine de la surveillance des débris spatiaux et assurer la sécurité et la durabilité de l'environnement spatial. Communiqué de presse disponible ici.


ClearSpace
  • ClearSpace s'est engagée à 1/ concevoir de nouveaux services en orbite afin de renforcer la durabilité et d'évoluer vers une économie spatiale circulaire, 2/ développer des solutions rentables d’élimination des débris et d'élimination des vaisseaux spatiaux et travailler avec toutes les parties prenantes pour les déployer, 3/ mener nos missions de services en orbite sur une base nette zéro, et nos missions d'enlèvement et d'élimination sur une base nette négative, et 4/ sensibiliser au risque de collision afin de contribuer à l'élaboration des futures politiques en faveur d'un écosystème spatial net zéro. Communiqué de presse disponible ici.


Clutch Space Systems
  • Clutch Space Systems s'est engagé 1) à fournir une connectivité constante et un système de localisation aux satellites en orbite basse pour une commande et un contrôle immédiats et totaux en vue d'une autonomie supervisée, afin de soutenir le développement d’opérateurs de satellites axés sur la sécurité et la durabilité, et 2) à fournir des stations terrestres pour satellites avec une empreinte carbone 99 % inférieure à celle d'un système traditionnel équivalent.


CNES (Centre national d'études spatiales)

DarkStar Aerospace
  • DarkStar Aerospace s'est engagé 1/ à utiliser ses stations au sol et ses stations de suivi multispectrales dans la région MENA pour surveiller les débris spatiaux et aider la communauté internationale à minimiser les risques spatiaux dans une région où l'humanité a peu de couverture et 2/ à développer une nouvelle technologie satellitaire pour surveiller l'espace LEO et GEO afin d'aider à l'élimination des débris spatiaux et de minimiser d'autres risques. Et continuer à développer des systèmes de propulsion hybride et de fusées réutilisables avec nos fournisseurs de services de lancement afin de minimiser notre impact sur l'environnement et l'espace. Communiqué de presse disponible ici.


EgSA (Agence spatiale égyptienne)

E-Space
  • E-Space s'est engagé à concevoir des systèmes satellitaires en plaçant la durabilité au cœur de leur architecture en maintenant de petites sections transversales pour les rendre beaucoup moins vulnérables aux collisions, en empêchant la création de nouveaux débris en cas de collision et en nettoyant activement l'espace en entraînant et en désorbitant les petits débris lorsque cela est possible. Vous pouvez lire le communiqué de presse ici.


Exotrail
  • Exotrail s'est engagé 1/ à continuer d'améliorer la mobilité spatiale avec des solutions à long terme, notamment avec un SpaceVan™ réutilisable qui permettra à l'entreprise de ne plus créer de débris de satellite d'ici 2030 et 2/ d'ici la fin de la décennie, à s'orienter vers de nouveaux services qui permettront une utilisation plus sûre de l'espace, comme l'enlèvement des débris.


EUSST
  • EU SST fournit des services opérationnels de sécurité spatiale qui protègent les infrastructures spatiales, notamment les programmes phares de l'Union européenne Galileo et Copernicus, contre les risques de collision et empêchent la prolifération des débris spatiaux. Ces services seront mis à la disposition des utilisateurs en dehors de l'Europe dans un avenir proche. EU SST s'est également engagé à travailler au développement de services publics supplémentaires afin d'améliorer la coordination du trafic spatial et de garantir la sécurité des opérations spatiales, par exemple en soutenant les activités de réduction des débris spatiaux et d’assainissement de l’espace. Communiqué de presse disponible ici.


Eutelsat
  • Eutelsat s'est engagé à mettre en œuvre un « Plan de maîtrise des débris spatiaux », propre à la société et constamment remis à jour depuis son lancement en 2005, garantissant le respect des normes les plus strictes en matière d'opérations spatiales durables. Ce plan a permis à Eutelsat d'atteindre un taux de succès supérieur à 95 % pour les désorbitations de ses satellites. Le Groupe s'est également engagé à travailler en étroite collaboration avec les autorités françaises pour la mise à jour de la loi spatiale française afin de prendre en compte les nouveaux défis de l'espace, notamment les débris. Communiqué de presse disponible ici.


GISTDA

GMV
  • GMV s'est engagé à 1/ améliorer et promouvoir l'utilisation de ses services commerciaux de prévention des collisions fournis par le centre d'opérations focusoc et 2/ à poursuivre ses travaux sur le développement de nouvelles solutions pour assurer la sécurité et la durabilité des opérations spatiales en vue d'une future gestion efficace du trafic spatial. Communiqué de presse disponible ici.


Hispasat
  • Hispasat s'est engagée à 1/ mettre en œuvre un plan de durabilité avec des recommandations spécifiques pour une exploitation plus durable de sa flotte de satellites, et 2/ se conformer strictement aux lignes directrices et recommandations existantes en matière de débris spatiaux, ainsi que contribuer au développement du STM et des réglementations futures sur les débris spatiaux et la durabilité de l'espace en Europe, en étroite collaboration avec les parties prenantes et les autorités publiques concernées.


IAASS
  • L’International Association for the Advancement of Space Safety s'est engagée à promouvoir et à développer la "Proposition de l'IAASS/IASL pour un cadre opérationnel et réglementaire visant à assurer le retrait des débris spatiaux". Don Kessler, ancien chef scientifique de la NASA pour les débris spatiaux, a déclaré à propos de cette proposition :"Je pense qu'il s'agit d'un cadre intéressant qui pourrait permettre de contourner bon nombre des problèmes politiques et juridiques que rencontrerait toute agence gouvernementale ou entreprise privée". Texte complet de la proposition disponible ici.


Inmarsat

International institute of air and space law
  • L'International Institute of Air and Space Law (Institut international du droit aérien et spatial) s'est engagé à former des étudiants et des jeunes professionnels du monde entier aux composantes législatives et politiques des activités de réduction des débris spatiaux et d’assainissement de l’espace, et à les encourager et les soutenir dans leurs recherches sur ces sujets. Communiqué de presse disponible ici.


ISISPACE
  • ISISPACE s'est engagé à 1) développer et utiliser des technologies spatiales disruptives pour la réduction et l'élimination des débris et 2) respecter les normes les plus strictes en matière d'opérations spatiales durables, notamment la norme néerlandaise consistant à désorbiter les objets envoyés dans l'espace 25 ans après leur lancement plutôt que 25 ans après leur fin de vie. Communiqué de presse disponible ici.


Kall Morris Incorporated
  • KMI s'est engagé à 1/ développer des solutions logicielles et matérielles innovantes et évolutives pour capturer les débris orbitaux non contrôlés, non reconnus et non préparés, et à 2/ aider au développement de l'entretien, de l'assemblage et de la fabrication dans l'espace avec des acteurs gouvernementaux, commerciaux et civils pour une utilisation responsable de l'espace.


NorthStar
  • NorthStar s’est engagé à supporter des opérations spatiales sûres et durables grâce à ses services haute-fidélité pour les opérateurs de satellites. Les services d'information et de renseignement spatiaux de NorthStar seront lancés en 2023, apportant le premier service de suivi des objets spatiaux commercial basé dans l'espace à couvrir toutes les orbites proches de la Terre.


OrbitX
  • OrbitX s'est engagé à faire progresser l'accès durable des Philippins à l'espace en fournissant aux Philippines et au marché philippin de nouvelles technologies durables telles que la fusée renouvelable Haribon SLS-1 et tous nos projets auxiliaires. Communiqué de presse disponible ici.


Planet
  • Planet s'est engagé à 1/ toujours partager ses données d'éphémérides des satellites les plus précises avec la communauté élargie des opérateurs, et à 2/ publier les résultats d'analyses sur l'utilisation de la traînée différentielle comme technique d’évitement des collisions (et continuer à améliorer son utilisation).


SCOUT
  • SCOUT s'est engagé à 1/ soutenir la durabilité de l'espace extra-atmosphérique par le développement et la fourniture de services qui améliorent la surveillance spatiale pour des opérations plus précises et moins risquées, et à 2/ collaborer avec toutes les parties prenantes pour assurer le développement de normes et de politiques qui favorisent une utilisation responsable de l'espace.


Share my Space
  • Share my Space s'est engagé à 1) favoriser les capacités indépendantes en matière de détection des débris spatiaux, de technologies de manœuvres automatisées et de navigation autonome des satellites, et 2) développer une base de données indépendante de plus de 150 000 objets pour accroître notre connaissance commune de l'état de l'environnement orbital de la Terre. Communiqué de presse disponible ici.


Skyroot Aerospace

SpaceAble
  • SpaceAble s'est engagé à fournir deux services innovants à la communauté spatiale, soutenus par une solution SSA complète, afin de grandement améliorer la durabilité des opérations en orbite terrestre basse. En termes de prévention, SpaceAble 1) commercialisera ISSAN en 2022, une solution logicielle SSA dédiée à l'agrégation et au traitement des données spatiales, dont la météo spatiale, afin de limiter les risques de défaillance en orbite terrestre basse et 2) testera Orbiter en 2023, un satellite inspecteur en orbite basse qui complétera la télémétrie et évaluera en temps quasi réel l'état des satellites en orbite basse. En termes d’assainissement de l’espace, SpaceAble fournira à la communauté spatiale une solution d'abonnement à des contrats d'assurance qui couvriront les missions de collecte de débris spatiaux pour les débris en désorbitation, les satellites défectueux ou les pièces de lanceur.


Viasat
  • Viasat s'est engagé à développer des modèles complets qui 1) utilisent des indicateurs quantitatifs et des outils de mesure permettant une évaluation complète de l'environnement actuel en orbite basse (LEO), de l'évolution attendue de cet environnement et des conséquences attendues des utilisations plus intensives prévues pour ces orbites, et 2) aident à la conception et à l'exploitation d'engins spatiaux et de constellations durables, comme présenté dans leur récent livre blanc. Communiqué de presse disponible ici.


Pour plus d'informations ou si vous souhaitez soutenir la déclaration « Net Zero Space »: netzerospace@parispeaceforum.org

Projets liés à cette thématique

Les espaces communs : océans, climat, espace, biodiversité
Net Zero Space Enabling Space Projects
Astroscale (AS) est la première entreprise privée dont l'objectif est d'assurer le développement sûr et durable…
Astroscale
International
Japon
En savoir plus sur le projet
Les espaces communs : océans, climat, espace, biodiversité
Water resilient cities
En raison du changement climatique, la fréquence des événements météorologiques extrêmes augmente et les villes ne…
Strelka KB
Europe
Russie
En savoir plus sur le projet
Les espaces communs : océans, climat, espace, biodiversité
SSA Capacity Building
Ce projet vise à proposer des services de Space Situational Awareness (SSA) et la construction de…
Share my Space
International
France
En savoir plus sur le projet