Abidjan_Principles_Adoption_Photo
abidjan principles logo

The Abidjan Principles on the Right to Education

Sélectionné au Forum de Paris sur la Paix 2019 pour bénéficier d'un an de soutien en 2020

Projet porté par :

Un secrétariat composé de 5 organisations

Zone géographique
International
Thème
Culture & éducation

Abidjan Principles rassemble et interprète la législation et les normes existantes en matière de droits de l'homme, pour fournir des orientations sur leur mise en pratique dans un contexte d’expansion du secteur privé dans l’éducation.

Projet

Les Principes d’Abidjan décomposent la législation existante en matière de droits de l’homme en ce qui concerne l’obligation des États de dispenser un enseignement public et de réglementer la participation du secteur privé à l’éducation. C’est un outil de référence essentiel sur le droit à l’éducation dans le contexte de la commercialisation croissante de l’éducation dans le monde.

Organisation

Un secrétariat composé de représentants de cinq organisations - Amnesty International, Equal Education Law Centre, Global Initiative for Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, the Initiative for Economic and Social Rights, et le Right to Education Initiative - a dirigé le développement des Abidjan Principles, jusqu'à leur adoption en février 2019. Ces cinq organisations continuent de participer activement à la mise en œuvre des Principes, ce qui comprend un large éventail d'acteurs, notamment des organisations de la société civile, des États, des agences intergouvernementales et des donateurs.

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter

abidjan principles
abidjan principles logo

The Abidjan Principles on the Right to Education

Selected at the 2019 Paris Peace Forum to receive one year of support in 2020

Project led by : 

A secretariat comprised of 5 organizations - see below

Geographical Area
International
Theme
Culture & Education

The Abidjan Principles project compiles and interprets existing human rights law and standards in order to provide guidance on how to put them into practice, in the context of the rapid expansion of private sector involvement in education.

Project

The Abidjan Principles unpack existing human rights law regarding the obligations of States to provide public education and to regulate private involvement in education. It is a key reference tool on the right to education in the context of the growing commercialization of education worldwide.

Organization

A Secretariat made up of representatives from five organizations - Amnesty International, the Equal Education Law Centre, the Global Initiative for Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, the Initiative for Economic and Social Rights, and the Right to Education Initiative - steered the development of the Abidjan Principles, until their adoption in February 2019. These five organizations continue to actively engage in the implementation of the Principles, which includes a wide range of actors including civil society organizations, states, inter-governmental agencies, donors.

Subscribe to the newsletter