5
world justice project logo

Leveraging Visual and Statistical Argument to Combat Torture

Sélectionné au Forum de Paris sur la Paix 2018 pour un an de soutien en 2019

Projet porté par :

World Justice Project (branche mexicaine)

Zone géographique
Mexique et Europe
Thème
Paix et Sécurité

Le projet a pour ambition de mettre un terme à l’utilisation de la torture comme outil d’investigation, ainsi que d'encourager l'adoption de nouvelles mesures de prévention contre la torture.

Projet

La torture demeure une méthode constante pour de nombreux systèmes de justice pénale et constitue une source de radicalisation et d'instabilité menaçant la paix et la sécurité dans le monde. Jusqu'à présent, l'insuffisance de preuves quantitatives du problème permettait aux États de nier l’usage systématique de la torture et ses effets corrosifs. Leveraging Visual and Statistical Arguments to Combat Torture vise ainsi à mettre fin à l'utilisation de la torture comme outil d'enquête et à encourager de nouvelles mesures de prévention de la torture au Mexique, grâce à l'identification de bonnes pratiques à l'étranger, ainsi que dans les pays où l'utilisation de la torture est encore répandue.

World Justice Project, par l'intermédiaire de sa branche mexicaine, propose un projet de trois ans pour mettre fin à l'utilisation de la torture comme outil d'enquête, en utilisant une approche novatrice qui s'appuie sur des arguments statistiques et visuels pour encourager de nouvelles mesures.

Au cours de cette année, les porteurs de projet ambitionnent de poursuivre la collecte et l'analyse de données au Mexique afin d'identifier les mesures anti-torture susceptibles d’accélérer les efforts de réforme et de prévention. Ils souhaiteraient également développer des outils d'apprentissage visuel, expérientiel et de renforcement de l'empathie qui incitent à des changements dans les discours politiques. Le Comité de suivi du Forum de Paris sur la Paix facilite la mise en relation avec les parties prenantes concernées en Europe et en Amérique du Sud et fournit des conseils stratégiques et personnalisés pour améliorer la visibilité et la communication du projet.

Organisation

World Justice Project (WJP) est une organisation à but non lucratif vouée à faire progresser l'Etat de droit dans le monde par la recherche, le WJP Rule of Law Index, ainsi que les produits de données associés.
4
3
2
1

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter

1
world justice project logo

Leveraging Visual and Statistical Argument to Combat Torture

Project led by : 

World Justice Project

Geographical Area
Mexico and Europe
Theme
Peace and security

The project aims to end the use of torture as an investigative tool and to motivate new effective torture prevention measures.

Project

Torture remains a persistent feature of many criminal justice systems and serves as a source of radicalization and instability threatening peace and security around the world. Until now, inadequate quantitative evidence of the problem has allowed States to deny systematic torture and its corrosive effects. Leveraging Visual and Statistical Arguments to Combat Torture aims to end the use of torture as an investigative tool and to motivate new effective torture prevention measures in Mexico by identifying good practices abroad as well as in countries where the use of torture is still widespread as an investigative tool.

The World Justice Project, through its Mexico branch, proposes a three-year project to end the use of torture as an investigative tool, by using a novel approach that relies on statistical and visual arguments to motivate new effective torture prevention measures.

In the coming year, project leaders plan to continue data collection and analysis in Mexico to identify anti-torture measures that can inform reform and prevention efforts. They would also like to develop visual, experiential learning, and empathy-building tools that incite changes in the prevailing policy narratives. The Scale-up Committee of the Paris Peace Forum supports the project through the facilitation of connections with relevant stakeholders in Europe and South America, as well as the provision of strategic and tailored advice to improve the project’s visibility and communication.

Organization

The World Justice Project (WJP) is registered as a nonprofit corporation dedicated to advancing the rule of law worldwide through research, WJP Rule of Law Index and associated data products.
2
3
4
5

NEWS

February 2019: Presentation in front of the European Parliamentary delegation during its visit in Mexico.

29 April - 2 May 2019: Participation in the World Justice Forum, organized in The Hague (Netherlands).

May 2019: UN Antitorture Committee (CAT) recommended, in its concluding observations following Mexico's review, to replicate the national inmates survey implemented by the project.

Currently working on a proposal of legal reform to end the use of torture in criminal proceedings and on a documentary film contrasting criminal investigation protocols in Mexico and Europe.

Subscribe to the newsletter

Day
Hour
Minute
Second
leo libero dapibus Curabitur odio vel, nunc commodo Praesent velit,
X
X