Preparing Paris Peace Forum 2019: A new leadership for the second edition

As the Paris Peace Forum is getting ready for November 2019, a new leadership was elected for this second edition.

Pascal Lamy, who served as the first Chairman of the Steering Committee of the Paris Peace Forum, was elected President of the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee is made up of the six organizations that founded the Forum (IFRI, Institut Montaigne, Ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères, Sciences Po, Mo Ibrahim Foundation, Körber Foundation).

The Steering Committee, composed of sixteen high-levels experts of global governance from around the world, is now chaired by Trisha Shetty (India) and co-chaired by Igor Yurgens (Russia). Its role is to formulate recommendations on the objectives and the organization of the Forum as well as to make it known worldwide. Martin Tisné (United Kingdom) is joining it as its 16th member.

Justin Vaïsse was appointed Director-General of the Paris Peace Forum and will take up his duties on 18 March 2019.

Pascal Lamy
President of the Executive Committee
Pascal Lamy served for two consecutive terms as Director General of the World Trade Organization (WTO) from 2005 to 2013. In 2016, he was appointed President of the French Committee of the Pacific Economic Cooperation Council (PECC). Since 2014, he is President of the World Committee on Tourism Ethics. He also serves as President emeritus of the Jacques Delors Institute as well as in various positions related to European and international affairs.

Trisha Shetty
President of the Steering Committee
Trisha Shetty is a social activist and lawyer from Mumbai, India. She started SheSays, a non-profit organization working for gender equality through youth and civic-society engagement. Her organization works on public safety, security, quality education, good health and well-being, digital literacy, sanitation, public policy and advocacy through a gender-sensitive lens. She is also one of the 17 UN Young Leaders for the SDGs and an Obama Foundation Scholar at Columbia University.

Igor Yurgens
Vice-President of the Steering Committee
Igor Yurgens is the Chairman of the Management Board of the Institute of Contemporary Development (INSOR), a member of the Management Board of the Russian Union of Industrialists and Entrepreneurs, among other organizations.

Martin Tisné
Member of the Steering Committee
Martin Tisné is Managing Director at Luminate. Alongside the Obama White House, he founded the Open Government Partnership and helped it grow to a 70+ country initiative. He also initiated the International Open Data Charter, the G8 Open Data Charter and the G20’s commitment to open data principles. He is the co-founder of Publish What You Fund. He is a board member of the Open Data Institute as well as a Steering Committee member of the Transparency and Accountability Initiative which he founded.

Justin Vaïsse
Justin Vaïsse was Director of the Centre d’analyse, de prévision et de stratégie (CAPS), the policy planning staff of the French Ministry for Foreign Affairs, from 2013 to 2019. A French historian, the author of numerous books on international affairs, he was a Senior Fellow and Director of Research at the Center on the US and Europe at the Brookings Institution from 2007 to 2013.

Subscribe to the newsletter