Meet the Steering Committee of the Paris Peace Forum

The Steering Committee of the Paris Peace Forum is made up of fifteen high-level experts in global governance. They were chosen by the Executive Committee of the organization with regard to their expertise and their commitment while ensuring a balanced representation in gender and regional origin.

Led by Pascal Lamy and Trisha Shetty, the Paris Peace Forum Steering Committee advises the Executive Committee on the direction the Paris Peace Forum should take, and on overall questions pertaining to its annual organization. The Steering Committee can also raise any questions related to the purpose and objectives of the association.

“The Steering Committee is, in a way, the brain trust of the Forum. It is composed of individuals with a proven experience in international issues. It is here to help and intellectually guide the people in charge of the Forum. […] Naturally, the support we give comes from our own, individual experiences in conducting international projects, whether it is experience in governance, in regulation issues. The Paris Peace Forum is a way to reinvent international cooperation, at a time when it is obviously decreasing, whereas the problems we need to solve are only increasing.” Pascal LAMY, president of the Steering Committee, July 2018


The composition of the Steering Committee:

Note: Members of the Steering Committee seat in their personnal capacity. Their institutionnal affiliation is listed for identification purpose only.

  • Pascal LAMY (France), president of the Steering Committee
    From September 2005 to August 2013, Pascal Lamy served for two consecutive terms as Director General of the World Trade Organization (WTO). Pascal Lamy was appointed in 2016 President of the French Committee of the Pacific Economic Cooperation Council (PECC) and chair of the European group of experts in charge of evaluating the impact of EU research funding. He also serves as President emeritus of the Jacques Delors Institute, President of the World Committee on Tourism Ethics, as well as in various positions related to international affairs.
  • Trisha SHETTY (India), vice-president of the Steering Committee
    Trisha Shetty is a social activist and lawyer from Mumbai, India. She started SheSays, a non-profit organization working for gender equality through youth and civic-society engagement. Her organization works on Public Safety, Security, Quality Education, Good Health and Well-being, Digital Literacy, Sanitation, Public Policy and Advocacy through a gender-sensitive lens. Trisha is also one of the 17 UN Young Leaders for the SDGs and an Obama Foundation Scholar at Columbia University.
  • Fauziya ABDI ALI (Kenya)
    Fauziya Abdi Ali is the Founder and President of Women in International Security (WIIS) Horn of Africa (HoA). She is a devoted advocate for women engagement in peace and security.
  • Haifa Dia AL-ATTIA (Jordan)
    Since 2012, as its founding CEO, Haifa Dia Al-Attia has been leading the Queen Rania Foundation (QRF), a research and program development NGO charged with influencing national policy and with developing innovation in education. The objective of the Foundation is to position Jordan as a platform to reinvent school education through an impact focused approach to learning.
  • Renato FLORES (Brazil)
    Renato Galvão Flôres Junior is Director, International Intelligence Unit, at the Foudaçao Getulio Vargas, Rio de Janeiro, where he is also Professor, Graduate School of Economics (FGV EPGE), and acts as Special Aide to the President of FGV. He has an extensive career, in Brazilian and European institutions, with a large experience in teaching, research and consulting, as well as in the Brazilian public sector (Ministry of Planning).
  • Patrick GASPARD (USA)
    Patrick Gaspard is president of the Open Society Foundations. Prior to joining Open Society, he served as the U.S. ambassador to South Africa from 2013 to 2016.
  • Kristalina GEORGIEVA (Bulgaria)
    Kristalina Georgieva is the Chief Executive Officer for the World Bank (International Bank for Reconstruction and Development and the International Development Association). Georgieva’s role is to build support across the international community to help mobilize resources for poor and middle-income countries and develop more effective solutions for the poor at the scale required.
  • Vasu GOUNDEN (South Africa)
    Vasu Gounden is the Founder and Executive Director of African Centre for the Constructive Resolution of Disputes (ACCORD).
  • Edna JAIME (Mexico)
    Edna Jaime Treviño has more than 25 years of applied investigation experience in diverse public policy disciplines and more than 10 years of experience directing think tanks in Mexico. Currently, she directs the think tanks, México Evalúa and CIDAC. Edna Jaime has advocated for the implementation of the National Anti-Corruption System as well as participated in the legal revision process for transparency laws in Mexico.
  • Rouba MHAISSEN (Lebanon)
    Rouba Mhaissen is a Syrian-Lebanese economist, academic, community mobiliser, and development practitioner who works on development issues in the MENA region particularly forced migration and the Syrian refugee crisis. She is the Founder and Director of Sawa for Development and Aid, a Civil Society Organization that supports Syrian refugees in Lebanon, and Sawa Foundation UK, that supports forced migrants in Europe and the Middle East.
  • Stewart PATRICK (USA)
    Stewart Patrick is the James H. Binger senior fellow in global governance and the director of the program on international institutions and global governance at the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR). His areas of expertise include multilateral cooperation, international institutions, and the challenges posed by fragile, failing, and post-conflict states. He is the author of numerous books on these questions.
  • Igor YURGENS (Russia)
    Igor Yurgens is the Chairman of the Management Board of the Institute of Contemporary Development (INSOR), a member of the Management Board of the Russian Union of Industrialists and Entrepreneurs, among other organizations.
  • Yenny WAHID (Indonesia)
    Yenny Zannuba Wahid is a social and political activist who works to promote peace and tolerance in the world. Her sphere of influence within Nahdlatul Ulama (NU), the biggest Muslim organization, with around 80 million members, enables her to work effectively on the grassroots level. Her foundation, The Wahid Foundation in reference to the work of her father who was president of Indonesia, works at empowering marginalized women.
  • Huiyao (Henry) WANG (China)
    Dr. Huiyao (Henry) Wang is the Founder and President of Center for China and Globalization (CCG), the largest Chinese independent think tank that makes into the world’s top 100 think tanks of the 2017 Global Go To Think Tank Index Report. Chinese Premier also appointed Dr. Wang as a Counselor of China State Council, China’s cabinet.
  • Zhimin CHEN (China) 
    Professor Chen Zhimin is the Dean of the School of International Relations and Public Affairs (SIRPA) at Fudan University, where he also holds the position of University Vice President.

Subscribe to the newsletter

ut fringilla consectetur ut dapibus leo. ut pulvinar suscipit Praesent elementum justo